How do they figure out queue times?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cptcliff, 28th Mar 2019.

  1. cptcliff

    cptcliff TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Something that I’ve always wondered is how to they calculate queue times? I’ve never seen any cameras that look queue specific and I can’t imagine it being app or manual


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #1
  2. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    A combination of staff guessing and entering time in attractions.io (on the iPad) and the Alton towers apps on people's phones reporting the presence of certain blue tooth beacons (black boxes in queue lines).
    So if it sees say the nemesis entrance beacon then 25 minutes later the nemesis station beacon it calculates a queue time of 25 minutes.

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
    Matt N and Skyscraper like this.
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #2
  3. cptcliff

    cptcliff TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ohh, that seems to make a lot of sense.

    The Bluetooth beacon is an interesting concept, never knew that.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #3
  4. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Problem is say someone's phone dies in the queue then 3 hours later on a return lap it comes back on, if that happens to enough guests it can confuse the system into showing inaccurate information.

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
    Skyscraper, cptcliff and DiogoJ42 like this.
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #4
  5. cptcliff

    cptcliff TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    I’m surprised they don’t use cameras but I suppose outside they’d get dirty, sun would blind them etc..


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #5
  6. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    6,528
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Back in the good old days we used to just look at the queue and pull a figure out of our derriere.
     
    Rick, Islander, jon81uk and 2 others like this.
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #6
  7. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    That's still the procedure! They often have to override the BLE system.

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
    Skyscraper and Alsty like this.
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #7
  8. cptcliff

    cptcliff TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    What does BLE stand for?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #8
  9. Ted

    Ted TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    2,037
    Location:
    London
    Favourite Ride:
    Taron
    I think it's largely to do with the overall throughput of the ride.
     
    Posted 28th Mar 2019
    #9
  10. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Bluetooth Low Energy.
    It's what it sounds like, a spec for incredibly low power usage devices that can easily be run of battery for years.

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
    Skyscraper and cptcliff like this.
  11. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    6,528
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Each queue is made up of different sections each with official queue lengths. For example Nemesis has three sections, one from the entrance turning right to the station, one from the entrance turning left which loops back to the entrance, and an extension to the second area. You just look at which racks are open and then estimate the time based on how full they are vs the official queue lengths.
     
  12. cptcliff

    cptcliff TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    So there’s markers which are indicative to a time and you just estimate it from that (when it’s done by ride operators)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    6,528
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Well, a simple example... if only one queue section is open and it's official length is 40 minutes, if that section is half full then you'd estimate the total queue at 20 minutes.
     
    cptcliff and imanautie like this.
  14. John

    John TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    3,859
    Location:
    Im Turm von Mystery Castle
    Favourite Ride:
    Steel Vengeance
    Not quite so simple of course, on Nemesis if the first section of Q is full it'll be about 20 min, but from the same point with a completely full Q you'll wait about 30 as there'll be a lot more fastrack users.
     
    imanautie likes this.
  15. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    6,528
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Well obviously you'd factor in more time if the merge point is open or the ride was on single train operation etc.
     
  16. Log Flume's Dennis

    Log Flume's Dennis TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Usually it's the time from when you enter the queue to when you get on the ride
     
  17. IanSR

    IanSR TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    3,630
    Location:
    Cell 2749
    Favourite Ride:
    Smiler
    I remember back in the good old days being handed a business card size thing that had a time written on it by the staff member at the entrance and was told to hand it to the batcher in the station, he then ran over to the booth and handed it to the op in there.
     
  18. DistortAMG

    DistortAMG TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Location:
    The Knights Templar
    Favourite Ride:
    Pirates of the Caribbean (DLP)
    In theory, it could be worked out by knowing the length of que and roughly calculating the throughput to give a time. But they don't do it like this. No way......not sure if anyone does....as a like minded programmer, I am sure @ihaveaspergers could very quickly work out a function to calculate this. Shame the parks are not that bothered about it. But without the actual data, any formula would be useless. But it could be done accurately pretty easy to be fair.
     
    imanautie and cptcliff like this.
  19. bluesonichd

    bluesonichd TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,170
    Likes Received:
    5,205
    Each ride host has a bag with many numbered balls in it

    Each ten minutes they pull out a ball from the bag and that number is the current queue time ;)
     
  20. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Damn it! Now all I can think off is building an accurate queue time function!

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page