Nemesis: General Discussion

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Skyscraper, 26th Oct 2019.

  1. spinba11

    spinba11 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Do you know if a staff member came out to the train
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  2. Connor98

    Connor98 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    566
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Favourite Ride:
    Hyperion
    No, not from what I could see. And I didn’t hear any activity behind me on the walkways either. It was just under 5 minutes we were stuck there before it restarted.
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  3. Skyscraper

    Skyscraper TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,303
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Favourite Ride:
    Nemesis
    Possible that somone hit the e-stop in the station or it activated automatically, although that would probably requre Tech Services to attend.
     
    jon81uk and Connor98 like this.
  4. Connor98

    Connor98 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    566
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Favourite Ride:
    Hyperion
    I was fully expecting an evac, but it didn’t come. This is why it’s puzzled me as to what exactly happened, it did stop with a sudden jolt (not uncomfortable by any means) just as it engaged onto the lift.
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  5. Rick

    Rick TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    10,914
    Location:
    Argleton
    Favourite Ride:
    Crux
    There are kickers between the station and the lift, aren't there ?
     
  6. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    7,114
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Possibly a fault occurred when advancing in the train behind you, e.g. the host released the enable button before the train was properly parked. If they don't realise and leave the train out of position for too long, a fault occurs which will kill everything. It doesn't need technical services but a team leader needs to come and reset it. It's quite common with staff being trained and inexperienced hosts.

    Restarting the lift causes the warning sounder that you heard.
     
    Skyscraper, jon81uk, Connor98 and 2 others like this.
  7. coastercrazy2011

    coastercrazy2011 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Very strange to see that the air gates were stuck open today, even whilst full trains were being dispatched, which explains why the batching process was different with riders only being allowed into the station building once the train had come to a stop
     
    Skyscraper and Connor98 like this.
  8. John

    John TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    3,974
    Location:
    Im Turm von Mystery Castle
    Favourite Ride:
    Steel Vengeance
    They can dispatch trains with the loading gates open? Most rides won't let you do that - aside from the risk of people wandering into the path of moving trains the gates would probably be inside the safety envelope when open.
     
    Skyscraper and Alsty like this.
  9. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    7,114
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Sounds like they've bypassed something to allow that to happen. Normally you can't dispatch with the gates open, nor open them when a train isn't in the parked position.
     
    Towers jamie and Skyscraper like this.
  10. coastercrazy2011

    coastercrazy2011 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Yeah, I wasn't aware it was possible. There was definitely only 1 op at the console, no maintenance staff. Guests were only being allowed into the station once the train had parked and restraints opened.
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  11. spinba11

    spinba11 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    I would of thought if the train had started climbing the lift it would of been past the point of a station stop having an effect on it.
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  12. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    7,114
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    You're right in the sense that the dispatch controls don't affect the train when it's got that far, but if you cut short the other train (the one advancing in the station), you'll cause a fault and that will disconnect the power to everything.
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  13. Skyscraper

    Skyscraper TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,303
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Favourite Ride:
    Nemesis
    Yeah don't they have to keep the dispatch button held down to bring the next train into the station on B&M Inverts? Possible that the op let go of the button too early and tripped the e-stop. :p
     
    Last edited: 15th Apr 2021
    Alsty likes this.
  14. Danscott22

    Danscott22 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1,726
    Location:
    Mansfield
    Favourite Ride:
    The Smiler
    Does anyone know if Nemesis is barriered off again today?
     
  15. Matt N

    Matt N TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    8,749
    Likes Received:
    7,526
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Favourite Ride:
    Mako (SeaWorld Orlando)
    I must admit, I’m slightly stumped as to why Nemesis seems to be being mildly problematic reliability-wise in comparison to the other rides lately. It was at the end of last season, and now it seems to be a bit on and off at the start of this season too.
     
  16. Connor98

    Connor98 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    566
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Favourite Ride:
    Hyperion
    I did notice a high pitch squeaking noise that appeared to be coming from the tire drives on the break run towards the end of the day yesterday before it went down, this could be nothing or could of been coming from somewhere else but just seemed to be coming from there as the pit seems to redirect sound at times. could be nothing though, as I’m not that technically minded regarding coasters
     
    Skyscraper and Matt N like this.
  17. spinba11

    spinba11 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    They’ve been making that sound for years, also anyone know why the tyres on the transfer track continue to spin when there’s no train there?
     
    Skyscraper and Connor98 like this.
  18. Ethan

    Ethan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Nemesis has a crane next to it today for people wondering whats going on with it. Who knows what it is now. Based on there being a crane, you'd assume it's to do with the track maybe
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  19. Connor98

    Connor98 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    566
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Favourite Ride:
    Hyperion
    Ah never noticed that myself :)

    and that doesn’t sound overly good for my next visit on Sunday. Glad I got some rides on it yesterday. Out of interest what area of the ride is the crane stationed?
     
    Skyscraper likes this.
  20. Matt N

    Matt N TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    8,749
    Likes Received:
    7,526
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Favourite Ride:
    Mako (SeaWorld Orlando)
    Interesting; it had a crane near to it for a lot of last season too. Could this be some kind of structural issue? It wouldn’t be too surprising, as I know that Nemesis has had supports replaced in the past in certain areas due to the pit causing issues with the footers; I think the loop has often been problematic structurally.
     
    Skyscraper likes this.

Share This Page