• ℹ️ Heads up...

This is a popular topic that is fast moving Guest - before posting, please ensure that you check out the first post in the topic for a quick reminder of guidelines, and importantly a summary of the known facts and information so far. Thanks.

NoLimits Noob - Scott's Stuff

Scott

Former TS Team Member
Favourite Ride
Nemesis
Hey guys, I recently bought NL and have been having a bit of a play about with some stuff, to see what I can make... I'm very new to it all, so don't expect anything incredible just yet!

This is something I made on the trial (unfortunately couldn't save it though so the screenshot is all that remains):

firsttry.png

Then we have 'Screw' - which is a very simple Vekoma I'm sorta working on:

2b0f88ecaa274232a761755.png

7a1ad02f54934e5a83d9141.png

^Side View

4502013da0be4bc7a1cb7ec.png

^Front View

It still needs smoothing out in places and could do with better supporting. Also I need to terraform it better, was attempting to make a lake inside the end turn but it went slightly wrong xD. Will post some simulation images once I iron those bits out.

Looks like a good start! Better than my first attempts at NoLimits :p

Just a couple of pointers:

Firstly, avoid curved break runs. While you sometimes see kickers going around a curve it's highly irregular to see brakes on a turn like that. I believe one of the main reasons is that most mechanical brakes use a fin or sorts which is clamped onto by the break pads. When taking a corner though obviously this fin will be at different positions on the track all the way through the turn. It's easier for companies to do them on a straight to ensure equal pressure across the train when stopping, and much easier to design and manufacture.