• ℹ️ Heads up...

This is a popular topic that is fast moving Guest - before posting, please ensure that you check out the first post in the topic for a quick reminder of guidelines, and importantly a summary of the known facts and information so far. Thanks.

Aerial Photography Advice

Jon

TS Member
Hi all. Sorry if this is in the wrong place, do move it as appropriate.

I'm going for a flight with a friend pretty soon and the planned route will bring us over Alton Towers. Having never flown in a small plane before or tried photography in any decent capacity, I was wondering if there were any here with more experience who could give me a few pointers as to how I'd get semi-decent results.

Welcome to the forum Jon! I'm not a professional photography, but I'd say you're going to need something with a decent zoom (a SLR with a decent lens) and something with decent stability - planes are full of vibrations, particularly smaller ones, so you'll be battling with that also :/

I'm sure we have more expert photographers around though.

Note - To any long term members who might think to abuse this opportunity, remember to think before you hit reply, we are watching! Thank you :p

Jon said:
Hi all. Sorry if this is in the wrong place, do move it as appropriate.

I'm going for a flight with a friend pretty soon and the planned route will bring us over Alton Towers. Having never flown in a small plane before or tried photography in any decent capacity, I was wondering if there were any here with more experience who could give me a few pointers as to how I'd get semi-decent results.