• ℹ️ Heads up...

This is a popular topic that is fast moving Guest - before posting, please ensure that you check out the first post in the topic for a quick reminder of guidelines, and importantly a summary of the known facts and information so far. Thanks.

Is the UK theme park industry heading for a bumpy ride?

Hi guys,

I'm Ellie and I'm an undergraduate student in my final year of study at Edinburgh Napier University. As part of my final year I need to write a dissertation and mines is focusing on challenges facing the UK theme park industry either currently or in the near future. As a result of this I'm undertaking primary research in terms of a survey in order to gain perspective on how UK theme park visitors perceive their visits.

I need as many responses as possible and hence, would like to ask you all to take a couple of minutes to participate.

The survey can be found here: https://survey.napier.ac.uk/n/zz4p6.aspx

Any response is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

The parks do need to improve their offering for the money paid, especially with the Merlin parks. Although I did say in that survey, when taking my son to Drayton Manor, for the combined sum of £20 for me and him in June last year. That represented great value for money for me. As the attractions on offer that we could both experience (Thomas Land, Cartoon Network Street, The zoo, The farm) represented fantastic value for £20.

They would have to cut their offering by a large amount for it to be at the same lower level of value that a place like Alton offers for the same type of people visiting. Had I visited Drayton with a group of lads, we would have got much lower value out of the day as we would have paid higher prices and had less to do. Like wise being vise versa, pay a little bit less with two for ones and get into Alton with a group of lads, I would have got much better value for money than when visiting with my lad, due to the attraction offerings available.