• ℹ️ Heads up...

This is a popular topic that is fast moving Guest - before posting, please ensure that you check out the first post in the topic for a quick reminder of guidelines, and importantly a summary of the known facts and information so far. Thanks.

School closures

BigT, as a teacher myself I take some offence to your earlier comments.

There are 22,000 schools in England alone. Around 30,000 in the UK as a whole. 5,000 is around 16% closed.

The school I work in opened today due to the fact that all except one teacher was able to travel in. The Caretaker was on site from 4.30am clearing paths so the site was accessible. I arrived at 7am. The site, on opening at 8.40am, was barely accessible but we managed. A third of children did not attend today, with many parents choosing to keep children off. The headteacher received some criticism for opening from some, and praise from others.

It should be noted that in a great many schools, senior leaders in a school may live many, many miles away. It is not always possible to have a Caretaker in at 4.30am - and under guidance from local authorities, a school cannot open if it is not safely accessible.

On Friday, the school invited parents to collect children early if they could, but teaching staff and assistants who lived nearby stayed onsite till close.

I am sick of hearing the constant whine of the government and some of the public attacking my profession. 84% of UK schools opened today. And that's due to the commitment of school practitioners across the land.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Can't we just trust that if a school has decided to open or close, it's because that's what the headteacher honestly believes is in the children's best interest? :)

AstroDan said:
BigT, as a teacher myself I take some offence to your earlier comments.

There are 22,000 schools in England alone. Around 30,000 in the UK as a whole. 5,000 is around 16% closed.