How do they figure out queue times?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cptcliff, 28th Mar 2019.

  1. Log Flume's Dennis

    Log Flume's Dennis TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    it was the greatest thread in history. The storyline arc of the guy who wanted to create a perfect utopia in block form, that instantly crumbled when he became a full-blown dictator at the slightest hint of power. It was beautiful.
     
    b2311e, MattyH, Brad97 and 6 others like this.
    Posted 1st Apr 2019
    #61
  2. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    3,183
    What post is this? Link or screenshot?

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
    Posted 1st Apr 2019
    #62
  3. Log Flume's Dennis

    Log Flume's Dennis TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    it was thread that was something like "Who wants to create a Minecraft Alton Towers and live in it and manage it" and he had a list of jobs, then a couple of people wanted the top job, which he took exception to. The rest is hazy but I think a genocide happened
     
    b2311e, streetmagix, MattyH and 5 others like this.
    Posted 1st Apr 2019
    #63
  4. Rob

    Rob TS Forum Team Team Member

    Messages:
    11,004
    Likes Received:
    15,197
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Favourite Ride:
    Steel Vengeance
    If this thread doesn't stay sensible then it may too be locked! ;)
     
    RoyJess, DiogoJ42 and Tibble like this.
    Posted 2nd Apr 2019
    #64
  5. DiogoJ42

    DiogoJ42 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    13,292
    Likes Received:
    20,065
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    Favourite Ride:
    The Metropolitan Line
    You should have been around for the infamous "would the world be a safer place if Hitler won the war?" thread. Now THAT went down in forum history....
     
    Posted 3rd Apr 2019
    #65
  6. MattyH

    MattyH TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    On the basketball court inside the Matterhorn
    Favourite Ride:
    It's a small world
    Posted 3rd Apr 2019
    #66
  7. Lurker

    Lurker TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    837
    I don't see why this is true. [Requires cameras throughout the queue line]

    If it is truly mapping people as they go through the queue it only needs 2 cameras, one at the entrance and one at the cars which are being borded. Any faces successfully tracked could be marked and an average time taken.

    If it is counting the number of people in the queue it could use a simple semaphore. It counts people in past the entrance, and counts people out (boarding the ride).

    Simpler still, assuming it is possible to get dispatch information (from the ride systems or from image recognition of cars leaving the station) using an average number of people per car it's possible to estimate to the nearest person?

    I see the disadvantage of course of not having coverage of the whole queue, as there is no error correction. If it miscounts upwards, that would remain wrong until the system resets, as you can't recount the whole queue. But I think it's possible to work around.

    I think facial recognition is the best way to go, and one assumes it's possible to get financial assistance with something like that, as I doubt all of the shopping centres I've seen using facial recognition do it by themselves. Given the predictability of where people will stand it should be easy to do.
     
    Posted 4th Apr 2019
    #67
  8. JoshC.

    JoshC. TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Surrey
    It's a good question, and one that sadly I can't really answer.

    I'd imagine there's some sort of benefit / need to having a continuous track rather than a discrete track of guests. As you say, error correction is probably one of them. Possibly that it allows more data to be gotten too? There's possibly more.

    Aside from that, I can't give any insight into the why - that's just what I've been told!
     
    Lurker likes this.
    Posted 5th Apr 2019
    #68
  9. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    3,183
    You can see which bits of the queue might need redesigning.

    Sent from my Swift 2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
    Posted 5th Apr 2019
    #69
  10. Lurker

    Lurker TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    837
    Because queues frequently get a redesign? Best we can hope for is them adding a gate to save us a walk, but even that isn't exactly likely.

    Thanks for your response @JoshC.

    Very curious about this now, and also curious about how accurate is the right amount. I don't think guests want to the minute, as queues change too much too quickly. I think an overestimation to the closest 10 is quite fine, nobody cares if a queue goes 10 minutes faster.
     
    Posted 5th Apr 2019
    #70
  11. Godscrasher

    Godscrasher TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    96
    They're not pressure pads. There's wires underneath the tarmac, when a vehicle passes over it the magnet detects the metal and creates a loop informing the control panel.
     
    Alsty and imanautie like this.
  12. Godscrasher

    Godscrasher TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    96
    Sorry like but the info you're providing above about pressure pads is rubbish. Please post something to back this claim up. Pressure pads on all queue lines will have an astronomical cost to install and maintain.

    My take on queue lines is that Alton encourage people to download the app, now not everyone downloads the app but I can guess a fair majority of visitors do to enable them to navigate the park initially. The app will use your data to know where you are in the park and for how long you've been in a set queue for. Think how google maps work and how it calculates the traffic on roads based upon how fast or slow traffic is moving. A simple calculation can then be done and a decent estimate for the queue will be displayed.
     

Share This Page