Virtual Queuing in 2021

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Burbs, 9th Feb 2021.

  1. jon81uk

    jon81uk TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,692
    Likes Received:
    4,078
    I was pretty certain the Tussauds system read the barcode or mag stripe of the ticket too, so you could only hold one reservation at a time?

    Also not sure where you got your Magic Kingdom price from? Its more like $120 for a single day ticket (depending on the season), although I think Christmas can be over $150 a day, a majority of the year is closer to the $120 end. I agree though that Disney pricing is completely different from most other places, but getting 12 hour days with fireworks or a nighttime show at the end of the day is worth it.
     
    SuperMuscleMan and Swarm Chris like this.
  2. Kraken27

    Kraken27 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    The Tussauds system did read the barcode to restrict you to one reservation at a time. Don't think Tussauds / Merlin tickets have ever had mag-stripes... bar very early season passes issued in 1994 & 1995.

    As to the Disney pricing, a slight typo on my part - the adult price ranges from $109-$159 for a 1 day ticket in 2021 (well until Disney put their prices up again, which they will). Disney work on a cost base that other parks could dream about.
     
    jon81uk likes this.
  3. Ethan

    Ethan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,152
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Don't understand how virtual queues work tbh. Surely if the park has 10k capacity or so then they will have to allow 1k an hour or so on for rides to maintain throughputs. But then you're going to have like 84 in the queue each time its peoples time to ride which will result in a queue building anyway so I don't get it. Terrible idea
     
  4. SuperMuscleMan

    SuperMuscleMan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    349
    Location:
    Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Colossus
    They did VQM in 1998 I think. (Whatever year submission opened). It was fantastic. It was £5 and you were text times to go on the rides if I remember right. I think it ran alongside the paper system but quite simply it worked and at the start of the day you were sent your ride times if I remember rightly.
     
  5. jon81uk

    jon81uk TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,692
    Likes Received:
    4,078
    For a system where 100% of ride capacity is dedicated to virtual queue or Fastpass.
    Lets say a ride can handle 600 people an hour.
    So you give timeslots of 100 every 10 minutes.
    If at 10am 300 people want to ride, the first 100 get to ride immediately, then next 100 are told to come back after 10.10, the next 100 after 10.20 and so on. Usually people are given one hour to return, so 10.10-11.10 and so on.
     
  6. Ethan

    Ethan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,152
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Yes I understand that but surely it will effect the capacity of the rides. For example, Nemesis provs get through 1.4k per hour so if there's 5 minute slots, 12 per hour, then they'd have to get through about 117 in 5 mins before the next slot comes into the queue.
     
  7. jon81uk

    jon81uk TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,692
    Likes Received:
    4,078
    But if you have an hour to return in then it isn't a regular flow, so yes there might be times when no one returns at all, then 10 minutes later a big crowd. This is why Disney FastPass still has a standby line despite 80% of the capacity being allocated to FastPass.
     
  8. Ethan

    Ethan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,152
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Ah I see what you mean so you think they'll do hour return slots. Problem with that is thats less slots then several per hour meaning you get on less rides. That would mean you'd only be able to get on 1 ride per hour, so 6-8 rides in a day depending on how long the parks open for
     
  9. Kraken27

    Kraken27 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    VQ Mobile worked from the guests viewpoint, i.e. you got your ride times allocated at the start of the day, then a text with a code on when each timeslot came due. The handheld units the staff had to verify the codes worked for about the first month. After that we just had to have the handheld unit and blag it, so it looked like we were verifying codes.

    There was a VQ Mobile sales buggy that went round Forbidden Valley selling VQM. Thankfully Towers had the foresight to change the decals on the buggy so it showed a sample "ride code" text message with a code of the incorrect length (it had an extra two characters on). On Easter Sunday when a certain group of guests visit we had no end of people trying to blag it with text messages they had created themselves - all with codes on that were too long.
     
    Steve74 likes this.
  10. rowan

    rowan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    what we have to remember is that we need to read the application fully as later on it says that one of your responsibility's is "to increase and promote ticket upgrades and extras such as dungeon tickets, scare maze and virtual que" this is a quote from the website as well later on it says "manage and promote all secondary revenue streams included with the virtual que both of these are from the website so we can conclude that it will not be a free service and will be payed just like lego lands reserve and ride so the base package will allow you to que virtually and go the next attraction based on the que time mid package only waited 50% of the time and gold will be like 10% as it is in lego land and six flags. as well later on it says about rental devices just like six flags system of ride and reserve. merlin have tested this system at lego land and realised that this is the only way they can offer a FastTrack system as obviously being a business they want to make and recuperate as much as they can so by introducing this system they can sell a FastTrack system in a COVID secure way.

    as well alton recently updated their ride access pass info just a little change but if the system was for everyone and not a paid service .then merlin would have done this as the ride access pass wouldn't be needed where as on the changes all it said was about pre registering. as well as on the career site it literally confirms and says 2 times that it is a paid extra and a extra revue stream its towards the bottom.

    as well as FastTrack is a large part of Alton's income as people travailing or visiting one day a year generally will buy a fats track and the single pass the offer at the munite doesn't sit well with the customer as to FastTrack wicker man one time for a family would cost £40 so alton needed and have developed a safer system

    also Alton would not cut the disabled pass after the bad anti disabled claims they got this year and how they are working with a disabled lady to improve the system so for pr reasons (public resources) and would not be a choice for Alton.

    trust me please don't read the other comments and believe everything would be online and you couldn't just enter a que trust me i have a business degree and the wording and language clearly shows it is a paid system so no need to panic.

    keep safe all and keep smiling
     
  11. Poisson

    Poisson TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    Location:
    Behind You
    Favourite Ride:
    The Giant Squid
    Just seems like an additional complication, but if this massively reduces FT capacity then I support it. I doubt it like, it's almost free money for Merlin.
     
  12. Ethan

    Ethan TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,152
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Oh thats alright then thank god for that. Again though I don't understand why they'd introduce virtual queue as a new fastrack system as those systems reduce ride wait time by a certain percentage. Whereas fastrack currently is limited to the point where you can buy it and walk on most things. So I don't know why they'd make people wait more but still have to pay similar amount for it
     
  13. pluk

    pluk TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Essex
    It read the barcode to only give one place per barcode, yes. But it didnt need to recognise it as a park ticket barcode, so you could get tickets scanning your lunch.

    The virtual only que trial on swarm was equally as fallible, so do not expect lessons to have been learned!
     
    jon81uk and ThisGuy like this.
  14. Kraken27

    Kraken27 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Well I frequently "operated" the Virtual Queue on both Nemesis and Air and it definitely had to be a barcode in Tussauds format. Others would scan & you'd get the beep, but no VQ ticket would be issued.

    The system was totally fallible as you only had to look at the format of the Tussauds barcode, e.g. where the letters and numbers were in the Alpha-Numeric sequence printed under the barcode. Then just go online and find a barcode generator & you could generate your own barcodes in the right format. You could easily get 100 to a page of A4.
     
    Alsty, ThisGuy and Skyscraper like this.
  15. AT86

    AT86 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    7,055
    ..or you could just press the button on the back of the machine to issue a VQ ticket without needing to scan anything ;)
     
    Alsty and pluk like this.
  16. pluk

    pluk TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Essex
    Maybe the Thorpe ones were more vulnerable then, I'm sure you didn't have to go to those lengths to trick them. The more recent issues with the swarm are more concerning with the recent technology involved.

    Either way, if there is going to be an increased or updated system used it really does need to be able to stand up to abuse.
     
    Last edited: 13th Feb 2021
    imanautie and Skyscraper like this.
  17. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    6,692
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    Any competent person who'd operated the virtual queue machines would know to use the key switch to disable the button, or even disconnect the cable inside.
     
  18. imanautie

    imanautie TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    4,149
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    Did towers staff really have time to do that?
     
  19. Alsty

    Alsty TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    6,692
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Favourite Ride:
    Shambhala
    I always did it, and most of my colleagues did too. I think those that didn't were unaware you could disable it.
     
    Skyscraper and imanautie like this.
  20. Kraken27

    Kraken27 TowersStreet Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    I always used the keyswitch to disable the button on the back. In the season(s) before these were added you'd just open the lid of the machine when setting-up and disconnect the spade-connector on one of the leads leading to the switch to disable it. You'd normally leave the button active (pre-keyswitch seasons) on one machine - the one you would be standing near most of the time, so you could manually issue tickets.
     
    Skyscraper and Alsty like this.

Share This Page