• ā„¹ļø Heads up...

This is a popular topic that is fast moving Guest - before posting, please ensure that you check out the first post in the topic for a quick reminder of guidelines, and importantly a summary of the known facts and information so far. Thanks.

Ride PLCs and computers

Don't know much about ride PLCs specifically but I've been building and programming Omron PLC networks for many years now.
I've used systems from the mid 90s and current systems so I can fairly confidently say to update Duels ride system would call for a complete overhaul. The old stuff can still work fine, but most modern system are a lot more network based. More importantly the software has changed completely.
If I want to edit one of the old 90s PLCs today (which I still occasionally do) I have to reinstall older software which although it works off a similar logic system to todays is not directly compatible.

I cut my teeth on Siemens s5 before moving on to s7 and profibus etc. I'm a long time out of that game now though. You need to be working with it constantly or at least regularly to keep on top of it all.

I've an s7 200 plc in my garage that controls the garage door that I automated many moons ago.

I'd love to see inside some of the big ride control cabinets.

I'm looking forward to seeing the discussions on this thread, working in IT myself I find this sort of conversation very interesting.

For those who're unaware of Irvine Ondrey Engineering, I highly recommend their Facebook page for control systems geekery. Look back through their posts for panels, cabinets, PLCs, drives and similar stuff.

They're also responsive to questions from likeminded enthusiasts.

For those who're unaware of Irvine Ondrey Engineering, I highly recommend their Facebook page for control systems geekery. Look back through their posts for panels, cabinets, PLCs, drives and similar stuff.

They're also responsive to questions from likeminded enthusiasts.