• ℹ️ Heads up...

This is a popular topic that is fast moving Guest - before posting, please ensure that you check out the first post in the topic for a quick reminder of guidelines, and importantly a summary of the known facts and information so far. Thanks.

Towers Street Abbreviations Thread

TheMan

TS Member
Favourite Ride
NemiLerVion
Based on some excellent points by Tom & Thomas, as a relative newbie my self, I felt the idea of clear and precise thread containing common (and not so common) abbreviations, easy to access where they are most used, would be useful. Please add more, and I'll update the list - there will be loads I am sure!

(I am also providing - where possible - hyperlinked text for those who would like further explanations of the tech/images etc)

I will categorise - suggestions most welcome!

Ride Technology:
OTSR: Over the shoulder restraints (Example from Gerstlauer "Euro Fighter" Model eg: Saw the Ride)
MCBR: Mid Course Brake Run
LIM*: Linear Induction Motor (Electro Magnetic propelled launch system)
LSM*: Linear Synchronous Motor (As Above)
B&M: Bolliger & Mabillard (Coaster Manufacturers - Nemesis, Oblivion, Air, The Swarm etc)

*For better explanations of LIM vs LSM click here

Alton Towers General:
AT: Alton Towers
FV: Forbidden Valley (Area containing Nemesis and Air)
Events:
FW: Annual Fireworks Event
Scarefest:
ToTT: Tower of the Terrors (Scaremaze Attraction)
F1000S: Field of 1000 Screams (Former Scaremaze Attraction)
BH: Boiler House (Former Scaremaze Attraction

Thorpe Park General:
TP: Thorpe Park
FN: Fright Nights (Thorpe Parks Halloween event)
NI: Nemesis Inferno (Thorpe Parks version of Nemesis)
X:NWO: X: No Way Out (Thorpe Parks dark coaster)

Chessington World of Adventures General:
CWOA: Chessington World of Adventures

Miscellaneous:
TL: Travelodge (Used often for meets)
WV: Weathervane (Often stayed at during meets, in Stoke)